Finding eigenvalues by inspection? I need to solve the following problem, In this problem, t

berljivx8 2022-01-18 Answered
Finding eigenvalues by inspection?
I need to solve the following problem,
In this problem, the eigenvalues of the coefficient matrix can be found by inspection and factoring. Apply the eigenvalue method to find a general solution of the system.
x1=2x1+x2x3
x2=4x13x2x3
x3=4x1+4x2+2x3
Now I know how to find the eigenvalues by using the fact that |AλI|=0, but how would I do it by inspection? Inspection is easy for matrices that have the sum of their rows adding up to the same value, but this coefficient matrix doesn't have that property.
EDIT: Originally I didn't understand what inspection meant either. After googling it this is what I found. Imagine you have the matrix, A=(211121112)
By noticing (or inspecting) that each row sums up to the same value, which is 0, we can easily see that [1, 1, 1] is an eigenvector with the associated eigenvalue of 0.
You can still ask an expert for help

Want to know more about Laplace transform?

Expert Community at Your Service

  • Live experts 24/7
  • Questions are typically answered in as fast as 30 minutes
  • Personalized clear answers
Learn more

Solve your problem for the price of one coffee

  • Available 24/7
  • Math expert for every subject
  • Pay only if we can solve it
Ask Question

Expert Answer

Elois Puryear
Answered 2022-01-19 Author has 30 answers
Here is how I would do it, but solving by inspection is subjective anyway.
Let A be the matrix of coefficients, then (Ax)k=λxk. Add the third and the second row. This gives x2+x3=λ(x2+x3), thus λ=1 or x2+x3=0. Since the trace of A equals 1, the sum of other two eigenvalues is 0.
To find other eigenvalues, let x3=x2, giving 2x1+2x2=λx1 and 4x12x2=λx2. The characteristic polynomial is easily found as λ2+4=0.
Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question
Terry Ray
Answered 2022-01-20 Author has 50 answers
You can see easily that AI has two equal rows (it also has two equal columns), thus you can guess the first eigenvalue.
Then the trace and determinant give you the other two eigenvalues..
Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question
alenahelenash
Answered 2022-01-24 Author has 368 answers
In general, the product of the eigenvalues is the determinant of a matrix, so in this case λ1λ2λ3=4. The trace (the sum of the diagonals) is the sum of the eigenvalues so λ1+λ2+λ3=23+2=1. But without knowing what one of the eigenvalues is, we need one more equation. If you notice (for some odd reason) that [110]T is an eigenvector with eigenvalue 1, then λ1=1 so λ2λ3=4 and λ2+λ3=0. Thus λ2,λ3=±21.In general there is no easy way to spot eigenvalues of 3×3 matrices.With 2×2 matrices you can use the determinant and trace. The reason this works comes directly from the fact that these are the only non-trivial coefficients of the characteristic polynomial (and thus determine the eigenvalues). When dealing with bigger matrices you need more invariants (i.e. coefficients of the characteristic polynomial) and other coefficients of the characteristic polynomial aren't as easy to use/remember.
Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question

Expert Community at Your Service

  • Live experts 24/7
  • Questions are typically answered in as fast as 30 minutes
  • Personalized clear answers
Learn more

You might be interested in

asked 2021-02-08
Solve the question with laplace transformation
y+2y+y=4
y(0)=3
y(0)=0
asked 2022-05-24
How to solve this differential equation:
x d y d x = y + x e x e y ?
I tried to rearrange the equation to the form f ( y x ) but I couldn't thus I couldn't use v = y x to solve it.
asked 2021-09-23
Let f(t) be a function on [0,]. The Laplace transform of f is the function F defined by the integral F(s)=0estf(t)dt . Use this definition to determine the Laplace transform of the following function.
f(t)=e4tsin9t
asked 2020-11-29
Part II
29.[Poles] (a) For each of the pole diagrams below:
(i) Describe common features of all functions f(t) whose Laplace transforms have the given pole diagram.
(ii) Write down two examples of such f(t) and F(s).
The diagrams are: (1)1,i,i.(2)1+4i,14i.(3)1.(4) The empty diagram.
(b) A mechanical system is discovered during an archaeological dig in Ethiopia. Rather than break it open, the investigators subjected it to a unit impulse. It was found that the motion of the system in response to the unit impulse is given by w(t)=u(t)et2sin(3t2)
(i) What is the characteristic polynomial of the system? What is the transfer function W(s)?
(ii) Sketch the pole diagram of the system.
(ii) The team wants to transport this artifact to a museum. They know that vibrations from the truck that moves it result in vibrations of the system. They hope to avoid circular frequencies to which the system response has the greatest amplitude. What frequency should they avoid?
asked 2022-01-19
How to solve y+y=exy23?
asked 2021-09-06

Find the differential of each function.
(a) y=tant
(b) y=1v21+v2

asked 2021-09-13
Find Laplace Transform of each following
(a) tn , (b) \(\displaystyle{\cos{

New questions