Review. An electron of mass 9.11 \times 10−31 kg has an initial speed of 3

oliviayychengwh 2021-12-20 Answered
Review. An electron of mass 9.11×1031 kg has an initial speed of 3.00 3×105ms. It travels in a straight line, and its speed increases to 7.00×105ms in a distance of 5.00 cm. Assuming its acceleration is constant, (a) determine the magnitude of the force exerted on the electron and (b) compare this force with the weight of the electron, which we ignored.
You can still ask an expert for help

Expert Community at Your Service

  • Live experts 24/7
  • Questions are typically answered in as fast as 30 minutes
  • Personalized clear answers
Learn more

Solve your problem for the price of one coffee

  • Available 24/7
  • Math expert for every subject
  • Pay only if we can solve it
Ask Question

Expert Answer

Anzante2m
Answered 2021-12-21 Author has 34 answers

Ste 1
Given data:
m=9.11×1031kg
vi=3×105ms
vf=7×105ms
x=5cm

Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question
Melinda McCombs
Answered 2021-12-22 Author has 38 answers
Step 2
(a)
First: we determine the acceleratoin by using the following equation:
v{f}2=v{i}2+2ax
Solving for (a) a=x{f}2v{i}22x=(7×105)(3×105)22×0.05=4×1012ms2
Then: we use Newtons
Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question
Don Sumner
Answered 2021-12-27 Author has 35 answers

Step 3
(b)
The weight of the electron is determined by:
Fg=mg=(9.11×1031)(9.8)=8.93×1030N
Therefore, this force is larger that the weight of the electron by 3.64×10188.93×1030=4.08×1011 times.
So,
(a) F=3.64×1018N
(b)This force is larger that the weight of the electron by 4.08×1011 times.

Not exactly what you’re looking for?
Ask My Question

Expert Community at Your Service

  • Live experts 24/7
  • Questions are typically answered in as fast as 30 minutes
  • Personalized clear answers
Learn more

You might be interested in

asked 2021-02-11
A 95.0kg person stands on a scale in an elevator. What is the apparent weight when the elevator is (a) accelerating upward with an acceleration of 1.80 ms2, (b) moving upward at a constant speed and (c) accelerating downward with an acceleration of 1.30 ms2?
asked 2020-11-23
Saturn has an equatorial radius of 6.00 107 mand a mass of 5.67 1026 kg.
(a) Compute the acceleration of gravity at the equatorof Saturn.
(b) What it the ratio of a person's weight on Saturn to that onEarth?
asked 2021-03-06
A 30.0 kg block is resting on a flat horizontal table. On topof this block is resting a 15.0 kg block, to which a horizontal spring is attached. The spring constant of the spring is 325 N/m. The coefficient of kinetic friction between the lower block and the table is 0.600, and the coefficient of static friction between the two blocks is 0.900. A horizontal force is applied to the lower block. This force is increasing in such a way as to keep the blocks moving at a constant speed. At the point where the upper block begins to slip on the lower block,determine (a) the amount by which the spring is compressed and (b) the magnitude of the force F.
asked 2020-12-01

Here is problem, please help 

image

asked 2021-11-11
The Humber Bridge in England has the world’s longest single span, 1410 m. Calculate the change in length of the steel deck of the span when the temperature increases from 5.0C
asked 2022-06-14

How to contact with sloshout, i want to check the review and try to find best wedding halls

asked 2021-11-19

Answer true or false to the following statement and explain your answer
The equation y=y0+y1ex is an intrinsically linear equation..

Solve your problem for the price of one coffee

  • Available 24/7
  • Math expert for every subject
  • Pay only if we can solve it
Ask Question